Skip to main content

Read Our Interview with the Authors of SCI-FI JUNIOR HIGH

Scott Seegert and John Martin have turned junior high upside down in this wacky, galactic tale of aliens and smarts!

Newbery Medal Winner Kwame Alexander Shares Fun Rules for Life

In THE PLAYBOOK, Alexander shares stories of failure and success on and off the court for a quick, encouraging read.

Newbery Medal Winner Jerry Spinelli Returns with THE WARDEN'S DAUGHTER

As she turns 13, young Cammie O'Reilly searches for a mother in the prison where her father is the warden.

Congratulations to RADIANT CHILD, Winner of the Caldecott Medal

In this stunning biography of Jean-Michel Basquiat, author and illustrator Javaka Steptoe combines beautiful artwork with a powerful tale.

Debut Author Ali Standish Dazzles with THE ETHAN I WAS BEFORE

In the vein of THE BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA, Standish takes readers on a powerful journey of loss, acceptance and growth.

Kristin Bailey Delivers a Lovely Fairy Tale with THE SILVER GATE

A young boy must protect his changeling sister in this original fairy tale with a classical feel.

February's Series Updates

This month's Series update includes some great new continuations to series that we love. Up first, we have BILLY SURE KID ENTREPRENEUR VS. MANNY REYES KID ENTREPRENEUR, the 11th installment in the Billy Sure, Kid Entrepreneur series by Luke Sharpe and illustrated by Graham Ross is out. In this book, Billy Sure and Manny Reyes switch jobs, but Sure Things, Inc. might not have have room for both them. Next we have IN THE TRENCHES, the second in the SecondHand Heroes graphic novel series from Justin LaRocca Hansen, where Tuck and Hudson must take on a villain in their own neighborhood. Lastly, Jessica Day George's Tuesdays at the Castle series continues with the fifth book, SATURDAYS AT SEA, where Celie and her family set out on the high seas on a ship that looks like their beloved castle. Click here to see the rest of February's series updates.

Latest Reviews

Sci-Fi Junior High Written by Scott Seegert and John Martin with a foreword by James Patterson - Science Fiction
Kelvin Klosmo isn't just the new kid at school --- he's the new kid in the galaxy! Welcome to Sci-Fi Junior High: an inter-galactic space station with students of all shapes, sizes, smells, and...slime content. As the son of Earth's two most famous geniuses, Kelvin isn't just the smartest kid in the world...he's the smartest kid in the UNIVERSE. At least, that's what everybody at Sci-Fi Junior High thinks. So, maybe Kelvin lied a little about being a genius to fit in. And maybe a mad scientist is about to take over the universe unless Kelvin can stop him. Maybe everyone is doomed. 
You gotta know the rules to play the game. Ball is life. Take it to the hoop. Soar. What can we imagine for our lives? What if we were the star players, moving and grooving through the game of life? What if we had our own rules of the game to help us get what we want, what we aspire to, what will enrich our lives? Illustrated with photographs by Thai Neave, The Playbook is intended to provide inspiration on the court of life. 
Jonathan Grisby is the newest arrival at the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys --- an ancient, crumbling fortress of gray stone rising up from the ocean. It is dark, damp and dismal. And it is just the place Jonathan figures he deserves. Because Jonathan has done something terrible. And he's willing to accept whatever punishment he has coming. 

Packed with full-color photos, fascinating facts and trivia, and great callouts from Jeff, this series is perfect for every kid looking to know the coolest, weirdest facts and trivia around! Challenge yourself to discover the world’s most remarkable plants!

Harry Miller's Run Written by David Almond with illustrations by Salvatore Rubbino - Fiction

Liam just wants to go out running with his mates --- the Junior Great North Run is not far away and there’s training to be done. But Mam needs him today, to help old Harry clear out his house. And Harry knows a thing or two about running. When he was a lad, he says, he ran from Newcastle to South Shields. "But Harry," says Mam, "it’s thirteen miles!" Harry grins. "Different days," he says. Here is the story of that day:  the day when Harry and his pals ran and ran and ran through the blazing sunlight all the way to the sea.

The Warden's Daughter by Jerry Spinelli - Historical Fiction

Cammie O'Reilly is the warden's daughter, living in an apartment above the entrance to the Hancock County Prison. But she's also living in a prison of grief and anger about the mother who died saving her from harm when she was just a baby. And prison has made her mad. This girl's nickname is Cannonball. In the summer of 1959, as twelve turns to thirteen, everything is in flux. Cammie's best friend is discovering lipstick and American Bandstand. A child killer is caught and brought to her prison. 

Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive --- one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows.

For ten-year-old Cadence Jolly, birthdays are a constant reminder of all that has changed since her mother skipped town with dreams of becoming a singing star. Cadence inherited that musical soul, she can't deny it, but otherwise she couldn't be more different --- she's as shy as can be. She did make a promise last year that she would try to break out of her shell, just a little. And she prayed that she'd get the courage to do it. As her eleventh birthday draws near, she realizes time is running out. And when a secret recording of her singing leaks and catches the attention of her whole church.

Find out what our country’s First Ladies thought, did, and advocated for as they moved into the White House.

Containing star charts, a guide to the constellations, and details about seasons and the movement of the objects we see in the sky, this classic book makes H. A. Rey’s passion for astronomy evident on every page.
Second edition updates concentrate on the planetary and solar system information in the latter part of the book. Facts and figures for each planet have been revised, and new scientific information has been added, such as Pluto’s reclassification as a dwarf planet.

When Rydr travels by train from Los Angeles to Chicago, she learns along the way that she can find family wherever she is.