Skip to main content

Talented Graphic Novel Artists Make Neil Gaiman's Bestseller a Visual Sensation

The first volume of the graphic novel adaptation of THE GRAVEYARD BOOK is "an energetic and welcome version of the original novel"

One Morning, River Wakes Up With a New Accent and No One Knows Why

"At its core, FOUND THINGS is the story of a young girl understanding how to sing her song in her own tune." Read the full review, here!

 

Children's Authors Come Together in This Eerie Collection

Four authors manage to make themes like "cake" and "flowers" just the right amount of frightening.

Remembering One of the Most Prolific Writers in Children's Literature

From HOOPS to DARIUS & TWIG, Walter Dean Myers has made us think, laugh, cry and expand our minds

Kidsreads Gets Potter-Fied This July...And You Can Too!

Click here for a chance to win a complete set of this beloved series, a special bookmark and a poster

Take Your Pants for a Walk Day! Or Book...Or Raptor...Or Backhoe

Dogs and cats are great, but Bob Staake, George O'Connor and Lori Alexander introduce some way quirkier pets.

31 Days of Harry Potter

July 29, 2014
When trying to figure out my favorite Harry Potter memory, I was stuck. Really, truly stuck. So I took the easy way out, and made a compilation instead. Here’s a top five:
July 29, 2014
Stephanie Burgis --- author of the Kat, Incorrigible series --- knows a thing or two about magic; in the first book, 12-year-old protagonist Katherine Ann Stephenson discovers that she inherited her...
July 28, 2014
There are a lot of books mentioned in the Harry Potter series, and did you know that author J.K. Rowling actually wrote and published some of them for muggles (non-wizards) like us? If you want to...

Features and Contests

New Harry Potter Story!

Just in time for our "31 Days of Harry Potter" feature, J.K. Rowling published a new story about Harry and the gang as adults! Check out the story --- which was first released on Pottermore on July 8th --- here.

 

 

Tribute to Walter Dean Myers

Walter Dean Myers, the prolific and award-winning writer of DOWN TO THE LAST OUT, THE CRUISERS, DARIUS & TWIG and more, passed away on July 1st. Click here to read our tribute.

 

July's New Picture Books Roundup

Our July picture book roundup includes LITTLE GREEN PEAS: A Big Book of Colors by Keith Baker, the rainbow-filled follow-up to the delightful LMNO PEAS and 1-2-3 PEAS; A PLACE WHERE HURRICANES HAPPEN by Renee Watson and illustrated by Shadra Strickland, where four young friends tell the story of Hurricane Katrina in free verse;  and BIG WHOOP written and illustrated by Maxine Lee, a whimsical story that features a rabbit and squirrel who will do anything to make the “too cool” Mr. Fox smile.

Cool & New Books

Our July roundup includes THE CABINET OF CURIOSITIES: 36 Tales Brief and Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Illustrated by Alexander Jansson, a collection of spooky, creepy and fun short stories for fans of SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK; THE GRAVEYARD BOOK GRAPHIC NOVEL: Volume 1 by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by P. Craig Russell, an illustrated graphic novel edition of Neil Gaiman’s celebrated and mysterious children’s book, and THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER by Dana Allison Levy, which introduces readers to the fun and never-boring Fletcher family made up of two dads, two adopted boys and lots of pets.

New in Paperback

Among the paperback titles released this month, we have THE IMPOSSIBLE RESCUE: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure by Martin W. Sandler, a real life story of survival in the harsh arctic climate in the 19th century; the first in a series in the tradition of the beloved MISTY OF CHINCOTEAGUE --- MARGUERITE HENRY'S PONIES OF CHINCOTEAGUE: Maddie's Dream by Catherine Hapka; and THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO LARRY by Janet Tashijian, about a boy’s famous virtual alter ego. 

Latest Reviews

After surviving his first year at Jedi Academy, Roan Novachez thought his second year would be a breeze. He couldn't have been more wrong. Roan feels like he's drifting apart from his friends, and it's only made worse when Roan discovers he's not the amazing pilot he thought he'd be. When the school bullies take him under their wing, he decides they aren't so bad after all--or are they?

Sarah’s dad and stepmom decide to take the whole family on a special vacation in order to break the ice and have everyone get to know one another. They’ll fly to Tahiti, charter a boat, and go sailing for a few days. It’ll be an adventure, right? Wrong. Dead wrong. 

Inventive, chilling, and filled with wonder, Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book reaches new heights in this stunning adaptation. Artists Kevin Nowlan, P. Craig Russell, Tony Harris, Scott Hampton, Galen Showman, Jill Thompson, and Stephen B. Scott lend their own signature styles to create an imaginatively diverse and yet cohesive interpretation of Neil Gaiman's luminous novel.

When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows she's in for a strange summer. A series of clues leads her to the muddy river banks, where clouds of fireflies dance among the cypress knees and cattails each evening at twilight. The fireflies are beautiful and mysterious, and they take her on a magical journey through time, where Larissa learns secrets about her family's tragic past -- deadly, curse-ridden secrets that could harm the future of her family as she knows it.

Anyone who has ever spent time with a dog knows that dogs love sniffing! They sniff out hidden food, dirty socks, and the visitor who comes to the door.  But some dogs work with police officers, soldiers and even scientists to put their "sniffers" to work.  Sniffer dogs make use of the amazing biology behind their noses to protect people from bombs, catch criminals smuggling drugs, or help researchers locate a hard to find snail in a forest.

Kevin Spencer is the glue that holds his family together. When his wacky relatives decide to have a double wedding in the backyard, Kevin takes charge. Planning two weddings is a great way to impress his girlfriend, Tina Zabinski, the Most Beautiful and Best-Smelling Girl in the World.

Brendan O’Connor is delivering pastries to the bustling businesses and elegant hotels of San Francisco, dreaming that someday he will be part of that life.
 
Li Dai Yue is running from the isolated security of Chinatown, distraught over the marriage her uncle has arranged for her.
 
Chance throws them together on the day of the San Francisco earthquake. Can two strangers from such different worlds work together to survive the terror of crumbling buildings, fire, looting and chaos? 
Found Things by Marilyn Hilton - Youth Fiction
One morning, River Rose Byrne wakes up talking like nobody else, and she doesn’t know why. Maybe it’s because her beloved older brother, Theron, has abruptly vanished. Maybe it’s because that bully Daniel Bunch won’t leave her alone. Or maybe it has everything to do with the eerily familiar house that her mind explores when she’s asleep, and the mysterious woman who lives there. River has to puzzle through these mysteries on her own until she makes a strange new friend named Meadow Lark. But when she brings Meadow Lark home and her mother reacts in a way that takes River by surprise, River is more lost than before. Now all that’s left for her to do is make wish after wish—and keep her eyes open for a miracle.

While at Wilderness camp on the Boston Harbor Islands, Ollie must navigate new friends, new enemies, and a high-stakes game of tag, so the last thing he needs is a mystery. But then Ollie meets Grey, an elusive girl with knowledge of the island’s secrets, including the legend of a lost pirate treasure, which may not be a legend after all. The sidekick steps into the spotlight as Ollie uses his wits and geocaching skills to keep long-lost treasure out of the wrong hands.

Meet Gladys Gatsby: New York’s toughest restaurant critic. (Just don’t tell anyone that she’s in sixth grade.)
 
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now she’s eleven, and after a crème brûlée accident (just a small fire), Gladys is cut off from the kitchen (and her allowance). She’s devastated but soon finds just the right opportunity to pay her parents back when she’s mistakenly contacted to write a restaurant review for one of the largest newspapers in the world.

Madison “Maddie” Martinez loves her weekly riding lessons, and she loves working with her favorite horse, Cloudy, every time. So she is shocked when she finds out Cloudy’s former owners might want to buy her back! Maddie desperately concocts various plans to stop the sale: maybe she can raise money to buy Cloudy herself, or what if she can make the potential buyers lose interest? Maddie’s online Pony Post friends—Brooke Rhodes, Hayley Duncan, Nina Peralt, who all share a love of Chincoteague ponies—can tell something is up, but at first Maddie is afraid to tell them what’s happening. If she loses her only connection to Chincoteague, will they even want to be friends with her anymore?

Stimulating projects enable kids to grasp the ideas underlying Wright's work.

Feral Child by Che Golden - Fiction

Her parents dead, Maddy is sick of living in Ireland. Mad as hell one evening, she crawls inside the grounds of the castle, the one place she has always been forbidden to go. Once inside, she is chased by a strange feral boy, who she suspects is one of the faerie: cruel, fantastical people who live among humans and exchange local children for their own. When the boy returns to steal her neighbour Stephen into his world, Maddy and her cousins set off on a terrifying journey into a magical wilderness, determined to bring him back home.

A collection of 36 eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories. THE CABINET OF CURIOSITIES is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school!