Skip to main content

Read Our Interview with the Authors of SCI-FI JUNIOR HIGH

Scott Seegert and John Martin have turned junior high upside down in this wacky, galactic tale of aliens and smarts!

Newbery Medal Winner Kwame Alexander Shares Fun Rules for Life

In THE PLAYBOOK, Alexander shares stories of failure and success on and off the court for a quick, encouraging read.

Newbery Medal Winner Jerry Spinelli Returns with THE WARDEN'S DAUGHTER

As she turns 13, young Cammie O'Reilly searches for a mother in the prison where her father is the warden.

Debut Author Ali Standish Dazzles with THE ETHAN I WAS BEFORE

In the vein of THE BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA, Standish takes readers on a powerful journey of loss, acceptance and growth.

Kristin Bailey Delivers a Lovely Fairy Tale with THE SILVER GATE

A young boy must protect his changeling sister in this original fairy tale with a classical feel.

Congratulations to THE GIRL WHO DRANK THE MOON, Winner of the Newbery Award

A young girl explores her magical powers in this gorgeous fantasy from author Kelly Barnhill.

February's Series Updates

This month's Series update includes some great new continuations to series that we love. Up first, we have BILLY SURE KID ENTREPRENEUR VS. MANNY REYES KID ENTREPRENEUR, the 11th installment in the Billy Sure, Kid Entrepreneur series by Luke Sharpe and illustrated by Graham Ross is out. In this book, Billy Sure and Manny Reyes switch jobs, but Sure Things, Inc. might not have have room for both them. Next we have IN THE TRENCHES, the second in the SecondHand Heroes graphic novel series from Justin LaRocca Hansen, where Tuck and Hudson must take on a villain in their own neighborhood. Lastly, Jessica Day George's Tuesdays at the Castle series continues with the fifth book, SATURDAYS AT SEA, where Celie and her family set out on the high seas on a ship that looks like their beloved castle. Click here to see the rest of February's series updates.

Latest Reviews

Twelve-year-old Warren has learned that his beloved hotel can walk, and now it’s ferrying guests around the countryside, transporting tourists to strange and foreign destinations. But when an unexpected detour brings everyone into the dark and sinister Malwoods, Warren finds himself separated from his hotel and his friends --- and racing after them on foot through a forest teeming with witches, snakes, talking trees, and mind-boggling riddles.

NewsPrints by Ru Xu - Graphic Novel

Blue is an orphan who disguises herself as a newsboy. There's a war going on, and girls are expected to help the struggling economy by selling cookies. But Blue loves living and working at the Bugle, the only paper in town that tells the truth. And what's printed in the newspapers now matters more than ever. But Blue struggles with her secret, and worries that if her friends and adopted family at the Bugle find out that she's a girl, she'll lose everything and everyone she cares about.

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology --- written by the best children’s authors --- celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us. In a partnership with We Need Diverse Books, industry giants Kwame Alexander, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle and Jacqueline Woodson join newcomer Kelly J. Baptist in a story collection that is as humorous as it is heartfelt. 

Here is the story of extraordinary leader Alice Paul, from the woman suffrage movement --- the long struggle for votes for women --- to the “second wave,” when women demanded full equality with men. Paul made a significant impact on both. She reignited the sleepy suffrage movement with dramatic demonstrations and provocative banners. After women won the vote in 1920, Paul wrote the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), which would make all the laws that discriminated against women unconstitutional.

Jean-Michael Basquiat and his unique, collage-style paintings rocked to fame in the 1980s as a cultural phenomenon unlike anything the art work had ever seen. But before that, he was a little boy who saw art in poetry books and museums, in games and in the words that we speak, and in the energy of New York City. Now, award-winning illustrator Javaka Steptoe's vivid text and bold artwork young readers to the powerful message and art doesn't always have to be neat or clean to be beautiful.

Sci-Fi Junior High Written by Scott Seegert and John Martin with a foreword by James Patterson - Science Fiction
Kelvin Klosmo isn't just the new kid at school --- he's the new kid in the galaxy! Welcome to Sci-Fi Junior High: an inter-galactic space station with students of all shapes, sizes, smells, and...slime content. As the son of Earth's two most famous geniuses, Kelvin isn't just the smartest kid in the world...he's the smartest kid in the UNIVERSE. At least, that's what everybody at Sci-Fi Junior High thinks. So, maybe Kelvin lied a little about being a genius to fit in. And maybe a mad scientist is about to take over the universe unless Kelvin can stop him. Maybe everyone is doomed. 
You gotta know the rules to play the game. Ball is life. Take it to the hoop. Soar. What can we imagine for our lives? What if we were the star players, moving and grooving through the game of life? What if we had our own rules of the game to help us get what we want, what we aspire to, what will enrich our lives? Illustrated with photographs by Thai Neave, The Playbook is intended to provide inspiration on the court of life. 
Jonathan Grisby is the newest arrival at the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys --- an ancient, crumbling fortress of gray stone rising up from the ocean. It is dark, damp and dismal. And it is just the place Jonathan figures he deserves. Because Jonathan has done something terrible. And he's willing to accept whatever punishment he has coming. 

Packed with full-color photos, fascinating facts and trivia, and great callouts from Jeff, this series is perfect for every kid looking to know the coolest, weirdest facts and trivia around! Challenge yourself to discover the world’s most remarkable plants!

Harry Miller's Run Written by David Almond with illustrations by Salvatore Rubbino - Fiction

Liam just wants to go out running with his mates --- the Junior Great North Run is not far away and there’s training to be done. But Mam needs him today, to help old Harry clear out his house. And Harry knows a thing or two about running. When he was a lad, he says, he ran from Newcastle to South Shields. "But Harry," says Mam, "it’s thirteen miles!" Harry grins. "Different days," he says. Here is the story of that day:  the day when Harry and his pals ran and ran and ran through the blazing sunlight all the way to the sea.

The Warden's Daughter by Jerry Spinelli - Historical Fiction

Cammie O'Reilly is the warden's daughter, living in an apartment above the entrance to the Hancock County Prison. But she's also living in a prison of grief and anger about the mother who died saving her from harm when she was just a baby. And prison has made her mad. This girl's nickname is Cannonball. In the summer of 1959, as twelve turns to thirteen, everything is in flux. Cammie's best friend is discovering lipstick and American Bandstand. A child killer is caught and brought to her prison. 

Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive --- one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows.