Skip to main content

Congratulations to THE GIRL WHO DRANK THE MOON, Winner of the Newbery Award

A young girl explores her magical powers in this gorgeous fantasy from author Kelly Barnhill.

Congratulations to RADIANT CHILD, Winner of the Caldecott Medal

In this stunning biography of Jean-Michel Basquiat, author and illustrator Javaka Steptoe combines beautiful artwork with a powerful tale.

Debut Author Ali Standish Dazzles with THE ETHAN I WAS BEFORE

In the vein of THE BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA, Standish takes readers on a powerful journey of loss, acceptance and growth.

Kristin Bailey Delivers a Lovely Fairy Tale with THE SILVER GATE

A young boy must protect his changeling sister in this original fairy tale with a classical feel.

Kidsreads.com Reviewers Reveal Their Favorite Books of 2016

Take a look and see if any of their picks match yours --- and which titles you may want to consider reading in 2017!

Read Our Interview with Henry Neff and a Review of IMPYRIUM

Hazel is happy to leave ruling to her sisters so that she can study her magic. But the empress has other plans for her granddaughter...dark and dangerous plans.

Features and Contests

New Picture Books Roundup

Our Picture Books Roundup this month includes IT IS NOT TIME FOR SLEEPING by Lisa Graff, which tells the story of a boy who decides that it cannot be time for sleeping; Marla Frazee's THE BOSSIER BABY, the sequel to THE BOSS BABY; and Keith Baker HAP-PEA ALL YEAR which celebrates the months, seasons and holidays with colorful, vivid illustrations.

Cool & New Books

This month's Cool & New roundup includes THE BEACH AT NIGHT, a children's fable from the point of view of a lost doll, reimagined by critically aclaimed and bestselling adult author Elena Ferrante; THE LOST PROPERTY OFFICE by James R. Hannibal, which follows a boy named Jack who is great at finding everything --- except his father, who was in a secret society of detectives; and, lastly, the second book in the The Secrets of the Pied Piperseries, THE MAGICIAN'S KEY, where the main character, Max, has to go back to the Summer Isle to save her brother from the legendary Pied Piper. 

New in Paperback

Our New in Paperback roundup this month includes GONE CRAZY IN ALABAMA by Rita Williams-Garcia, which chronicles the summer of a lifetime with the Gaither sisters in the rural South; WE MEET AGAIN, the third book in Stephan Pastis' Timmy Failure series, where Timmy must face academic probation in his quest for global domination; and Kirsten Miller and Jason Segel's second installment in the Nightmares! series, THE SLEEPWALKER TONIC, which follows Charlie's suspicions as rumors spread that no one is sleeping in Orville Falls.

Latest Reviews

Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive --- one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows.

For ten-year-old Cadence Jolly, birthdays are a constant reminder of all that has changed since her mother skipped town with dreams of becoming a singing star. Cadence inherited that musical soul, she can't deny it, but otherwise she couldn't be more different --- she's as shy as can be. She did make a promise last year that she would try to break out of her shell, just a little. And she prayed that she'd get the courage to do it. As her eleventh birthday draws near, she realizes time is running out. And when a secret recording of her singing leaks and catches the attention of her whole church.

Find out what our country’s First Ladies thought, did, and advocated for as they moved into the White House.

Containing star charts, a guide to the constellations, and details about seasons and the movement of the objects we see in the sky, this classic book makes H. A. Rey’s passion for astronomy evident on every page.
Second edition updates concentrate on the planetary and solar system information in the latter part of the book. Facts and figures for each planet have been revised, and new scientific information has been added, such as Pluto’s reclassification as a dwarf planet.

When Rydr travels by train from Los Angeles to Chicago, she learns along the way that she can find family wherever she is.

Poppy, Marcus, Dash, Dylan, and Azumi are all trapped within Shadow House, a sinister estate where past and present intertwine. As they fight to find a way out, the kids think the ghosts of the house are the greatest danger they face. Little do the kids know it's the secrets they're each hiding that will prove even more lethal.

PATHFINDERS is a collective biography of sixteen diverse American men and women of African descent who made their mark on American history in the 18th to 20th centuries. People who dared to dream, take risks, and create goals not only for themselves, but for others and the betterment of their society, too.

Word of Mouse Written by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein. Illustrated by Joe Sutphin. - Fiction

What makes Isaiah so unique? First, his fur is as blue as the sky --- which until recently was something he'd never seen, but had read all about. That's right ---Isaiah can read, and write. He can also talk to humans...if any of them are willing to listen! After a dramatic escape from a mysterious laboratory, Isaiah is separated from his "mischief" (which is the word for a mouse family), and has to use his special skills to survive in the dangerous outdoors, and hopefully find his missing family.

In shepherd boy Elric’s tiny village, people think children like his younger sister, Wynn, are changelings --- left by fairies and doomed to curse all around them. As a baby, Wynn was born with developmental delays, and according to the rules, she was supposed to be abandoned in the woods. Instead Elric’s mother saved his sister and hid her away for eleven years. But when their long-absent father returns, Elric realizes that folk songs and fantasies can’t protect them from the outside world.

Garvey’s father has always wanted Garvey to be athletic, but Garvey is interested in astronomy, science fiction, reading --- anything but sports. Feeling like a failure, he comforts himself with food. Garvey is kind, funny, smart, a loyal friend, and he is also overweight, teased by bullies, and lonely. When his only friend encourages him to join the school chorus, Garvey’s life changes. The chorus finds a new soloist in Garvey, and through chorus, Garvey finds a way to accept himself, and a way to finally reach his distant father --- by speaking the language of music instead of the language of sports. 

Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from Boston to the small town of Palm Knot, Georgia. It’s also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn’t the only one with secrets. Coralee’s are catching up with her, and what she’s hiding might be putting both their lives at risk.

It's a rogue's gallery of some of nature's roughest, meanest species. Whether it's nature's slimiest organisms or the weirdest mutations, THINGS THAT MAKE YOU GO YUCK! celebrates survival of the fittest, grossest, craziest and creepiest things in nature, proving once and for all that life in the wild is anything but ordinary.