Skip to main content

One Morning, River Wakes Up With a New Accent and No One Knows Why

"At its core, FOUND THINGS is the story of a young girl understanding how to sing her song in her own tune." Read the full review, here!

 

Children's Authors Come Together in This Eerie Collection

Four authors manage to make themes like "cake" and "flowers" just the right amount of frightening.

Remembering One of the Most Prolific Writers in Children's Literature

From HOOPS to DARIUS & TWIG, Walter Dean Myers has made us think, laugh, cry and expand our minds

Kidsreads Gets Potter-Fied This July...And You Can Too!

Click here for a chance to win a complete set of this beloved series, a special bookmark and a poster

Take Your Pants for a Walk Day! Or Book...Or Raptor...Or Backhoe

Dogs and cats are great, but Bob Staake, George O'Connor and Lori Alexander introduce some way quirkier pets.

Barroux's Sketches Bring a WWI Solider's Words to Life

When French author/illustrator Barroux found a WWI soldier's diary in the street, he knew he had to share it with the world.

31 Days of Harry Potter

July 29, 2014
Stephanie Burgis --- author of the Kat, Incorrigible series --- knows a thing or two about magic; in the first book, 12-year-old protagonist Katherine Ann Stephenson discovers that she inherited her...
July 28, 2014
There are a lot of books mentioned in the Harry Potter series, and did you know that author J.K. Rowling actually wrote and published some of them for muggles (non-wizards) like us? If you want to...
July 27, 2014
The Harry Potter series is filled with awesome objects --- there are magic wands, delicious candies, flying brooms and a slew of interesting pets. Not to worry though ---  you can pick up some...

Features and Contests

New Harry Potter Story!

Just in time for our "31 Days of Harry Potter" feature, J.K. Rowling published a new story about Harry and the gang as adults! Check out the story --- which was first released on Pottermore on July 8th --- here.

 

 

Tribute to Walter Dean Myers

Walter Dean Myers, the prolific and award-winning writer of DOWN TO THE LAST OUT, THE CRUISERS, DARIUS & TWIG and more, passed away on July 1st. Click here to read our tribute.

 

July's New Picture Books Roundup

Our July picture book roundup includes LITTLE GREEN PEAS: A Big Book of Colors by Keith Baker, the rainbow-filled follow-up to the delightful LMNO PEAS and 1-2-3 PEAS; A PLACE WHERE HURRICANES HAPPEN by Renee Watson and illustrated by Shadra Strickland, where four young friends tell the story of Hurricane Katrina in free verse;  and BIG WHOOP written and illustrated by Maxine Lee, a whimsical story that features a rabbit and squirrel who will do anything to make the “too cool” Mr. Fox smile.

Cool & New Books

Our July roundup includes THE CABINET OF CURIOSITIES: 36 Tales Brief and Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Illustrated by Alexander Jansson, a collection of spooky, creepy and fun short stories for fans of SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK; THE GRAVEYARD BOOK GRAPHIC NOVEL: Volume 1 by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by P. Craig Russell, an illustrated graphic novel edition of Neil Gaiman’s celebrated and mysterious children’s book, and THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER by Dana Allison Levy, which introduces readers to the fun and never-boring Fletcher family made up of two dads, two adopted boys and lots of pets.

New in Paperback

Among the paperback titles released this month, we have THE IMPOSSIBLE RESCUE: The True Story of an Amazing Arctic Adventure by Martin W. Sandler, a real life story of survival in the harsh arctic climate in the 19th century; the first in a series in the tradition of the beloved MISTY OF CHINCOTEAGUE --- MARGUERITE HENRY'S PONIES OF CHINCOTEAGUE: Maddie's Dream by Catherine Hapka; and THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO LARRY by Janet Tashijian, about a boy’s famous virtual alter ego. 

Latest Reviews

Brendan O’Connor is delivering pastries to the bustling businesses and elegant hotels of San Francisco, dreaming that someday he will be part of that life.
 
Li Dai Yue is running from the isolated security of Chinatown, distraught over the marriage her uncle has arranged for her.
 
Chance throws them together on the day of the San Francisco earthquake. Can two strangers from such different worlds work together to survive the terror of crumbling buildings, fire, looting and chaos? 
Found Things by Marilyn Hilton - Youth Fiction
One morning, River Rose Byrne wakes up talking like nobody else, and she doesn’t know why. Maybe it’s because her beloved older brother, Theron, has abruptly vanished. Maybe it’s because that bully Daniel Bunch won’t leave her alone. Or maybe it has everything to do with the eerily familiar house that her mind explores when she’s asleep, and the mysterious woman who lives there. River has to puzzle through these mysteries on her own until she makes a strange new friend named Meadow Lark. But when she brings Meadow Lark home and her mother reacts in a way that takes River by surprise, River is more lost than before. Now all that’s left for her to do is make wish after wish—and keep her eyes open for a miracle.

While at Wilderness camp on the Boston Harbor Islands, Ollie must navigate new friends, new enemies, and a high-stakes game of tag, so the last thing he needs is a mystery. But then Ollie meets Grey, an elusive girl with knowledge of the island’s secrets, including the legend of a lost pirate treasure, which may not be a legend after all. The sidekick steps into the spotlight as Ollie uses his wits and geocaching skills to keep long-lost treasure out of the wrong hands.

Meet Gladys Gatsby: New York’s toughest restaurant critic. (Just don’t tell anyone that she’s in sixth grade.)
 
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now she’s eleven, and after a crème brûlée accident (just a small fire), Gladys is cut off from the kitchen (and her allowance). She’s devastated but soon finds just the right opportunity to pay her parents back when she’s mistakenly contacted to write a restaurant review for one of the largest newspapers in the world.

Madison “Maddie” Martinez loves her weekly riding lessons, and she loves working with her favorite horse, Cloudy, every time. So she is shocked when she finds out Cloudy’s former owners might want to buy her back! Maddie desperately concocts various plans to stop the sale: maybe she can raise money to buy Cloudy herself, or what if she can make the potential buyers lose interest? Maddie’s online Pony Post friends—Brooke Rhodes, Hayley Duncan, Nina Peralt, who all share a love of Chincoteague ponies—can tell something is up, but at first Maddie is afraid to tell them what’s happening. If she loses her only connection to Chincoteague, will they even want to be friends with her anymore?

Stimulating projects enable kids to grasp the ideas underlying Wright's work.

Feral Child by Che Golden - Fiction

Her parents dead, Maddy is sick of living in Ireland. Mad as hell one evening, she crawls inside the grounds of the castle, the one place she has always been forbidden to go. Once inside, she is chased by a strange feral boy, who she suspects is one of the faerie: cruel, fantastical people who live among humans and exchange local children for their own. When the boy returns to steal her neighbour Stephen into his world, Maddy and her cousins set off on a terrifying journey into a magical wilderness, determined to bring him back home.

A collection of 36 eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories. THE CABINET OF CURIOSITIES is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school! 

Tom Sawyer’s and Huckleberry Finn’s adventures are legendary, but what about the story you haven’t heard? In 1860, eleven-year-old Becky Thatcher is the new girl in town, determined to have adventures like she promised her brother Jon before he died. With her Mama frozen in grief and her Daddy busy as town judge, Becky spends much of her time on her own, getting into mischief.

A Hitch at the Fairmont written by Jim Averbeck, illustrated by Nick Bertozzi - Youth Mystery Fiction
After the mysterious death of his mother, eleven-year-old Jack Fair is whisked away to San Francisco’s swanky Fairmont Hotel by his wicked Aunt Edith. There, he seems doomed to a life of fetching chocolates for his aunt and her pet chinchilla. Until one night, when Aunt Edith disappears, and the only clue is a ransom note written…in chocolate? Suddenly, Jack finds himself all alone on a quest to discover who kidnapped Aunt Edith and what happened to his mother. Alone, that is, until he meets an unlikely accomplice—Alfred Hitchcock himself! The two embark on a madcap journey full of hidden doorways, secret societies, cryptic clues, sinister villains, and cinematic flair.

Aileen comes from a long line of magic makers, and her Aunt Beck is the most powerful magician on Skarr. But Aileen's magic has yet to reveal itself. When Aileen is sent over the sea on a mission for the King, she worries that she'll be useless and in the way. A powerful (but mostly invisible) cat changes that. With every obstacle Aileen faces, she becomes stronger and more confident, and her magic blooms.

Chasing the Milky Way by Erin E. Moulton - Young Adult Fiction

Lucy Peevy has a dream--to get out of the trailer park she lives in and become a famous scientist. And she's already figured out how to do that: Build a robot that will win a cash prize at the BotBlock competition and save it for college. But when you've got a mama who doesn't always take her meds, it's not easy to achieve those goals. Especially when Lucy's mama takes her, her baby sister Izzy, and their neighbor Cam away in her convertible, bound for parts unknown. But Lucy, Izzy and Cam are good at sticking together, and even better at solving problems. But not all problems have the best solutions, and Lucy and Izzy must face the one thing they're scared of even more than Mama's moods: living without her at all.

Determined to find her father, Lucy and her vexingly stubborn friend Pete follow William Darrington’s trail to the deadly woods on Devil’s Thumb. As they encounter Lupine princesses, giant sea serpents and all manner of terrifying creatures, Lucy hasn’t reckoned that the dreamwood itself might be the greatest threat of all.

Line of Fire: Diary of an Unknown Soldier Written by Barroux , translated by Sarah Ardizzone - Graphic Novel

One winter morning, Barroux was walking down a street in Paris when he made an extraordinary find: the real diary of a soldier in World War I. Barroux rescued the diary from the trash and illustrated the soldier's words. In this striking black and white graphic novel adaptation of a 100-year-old diary, the events of the first two months of World War I are given fresh meaning and relevance to modern audiences.