Skip to main content

Peter Lerangis


Peter Lerangis

Peter Lerangis is the author of over 160 books, for early readers through teens, which have sold more than 4.5 million copies and been translated into 28 different languages. He injects his own brand of suspense, humor, and colorful characters into many different writing genres --- mystery (theSpy X series), science fiction (the Watchers series), teen romance (the Drama Club series), and serious historical fiction (SMILER'S BONES).

In September 2003, First Lady Bush selected Peter, along with two other writers, Marc Brown and R.L. Stine, to accompany her to Moscow, representing the United States in the first Russian Book Festival. In 2004, the National Book Foundation chose him to be a Family Literacy Writer-in-Residence, and he has conducted writing workshops for the Highlights Foundation and the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. 

Peter's books are widely acclaimed. SMILER'S BONES, a novel based on the true story of Minik, a Polar Eskimo boy orphaned in New York City at the turn of the twentieth century, was a Junior Library Guild selection, a New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age, a Bank Street Best Book, and was a Recommended Book of the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books and the National Council for Social Studies. His two-book polar adventure, ANTARCTICA, was selected as required reading by the JASON organization in 2001. Books in his sci-fi/mystery series, Watchers, were cited by the American Library Association for its 1999 Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers and by the Children's Book Council/International Reading Association for its 2000 Children's Choice Books. He is one of the country's most in-demand movie novelization authors, having adapted The Sixth Sense and Batman Begins, among many others.

A Harvard graduate with a degree in biochemistry, Peter became a Broadway musical theater actor after college. He has run a marathon and gone rock-climbing during an earthquake, but not on the same day. He lives in New York City with his wife and their two sons.

Peter Lerangis

Books by Peter Lerangis

by Peter Lerangis - Fantasy, Mythology, Youth Fiction
THE SELECT tells the story of thirteen-year-old Burt Wenders, the first documented carrier of the G7W gene, and his fated voyage to the island that would eventually come to house the Karai Institute. In THE ORPHAN, learn the story of Daria, orphaned at a young age and enslaved by the Babylonians, and her valiant battle to escape the only city she's ever called home. These titles are together in print for the first time ever.
by Peter Lerangis - Action Adventure, Children (Ages 8-10), Fantasy, Fiction

Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he's going to die. The only way to save himself is to find and combine seven magic loculi. This won't be easy because The loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven't been seen in thousands of years. They're hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

by Peter Lerangis - Adventure, Children's, Fiction, Mystery

Amy and Dan were devastated when the Vespers kidnapped seven Cahills around the world, holding them hostage until Amy and Dan delivered an impossible ransom. But now the Vespers have gone too far. They've kidnapped Atticus, an innocent 11-year-old boy and Dan's only friend. Now Dan and Amy are in the struggle of their lives.

by Peter Lerangis and Torstein Norstrand - Action, Action Adventure, Adventure, Children (Ages 8-10), Children (Ages 9-12), Children's, Fantasy, Fiction, History, Juvenile Fiction
LOST IN BABYLON is the second book in a seven-book series, chronicling the adventures of Jack McKinley and his race to find the Loculi that have been hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. In Lost in Babylon, Jack travels to the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, where he discovers a world out of time and is faced with a dilemma unlike any he'd ever imagined.