Skip to main content

See You in the Cosmos

About the Book

See You in the Cosmos

A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of COUNTING BY 7S and WALK TWO MOONS

Eleven-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog, Carl Sagan --- named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977. From Colorado to New Mexico, Las Vegas to LA, Alex records a journey on his iPod to show other lifeforms what life on Earth, his Earth, is like. But his destination keeps changing. And the funny, lost, remarkable people he meets along the way can only partially prepare him for the secrets he'll uncover --- from the truth about his long-dead dad to the fact that, for a kid with a troubled mom and a mostly not-around brother, he has way more family than he ever knew.

For fans of WONDER and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME, Jack Cheng's debut is full of joy, optimism, determination and unbelievable heart. To listen to the first few minutes is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To listen to the end is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.

Audiobook available, narrated by Kivlighan de Montebello, Brittany Pressley, Graham Halstead, Michael Crouch and Jason Culp.

See You in the Cosmos
by Jack Cheng

  • Publication Date: February 28, 2017
  • Genres: Family Life
  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • ISBN-10: 0399186379
  • ISBN-13: 9780399186370