Skip to main content

Brotherband Chronicles

Series

Brotherband Chronicles

In this companion series to the global phenomenon Ranger’s Apprentice, Hal and his crew of fellow Skandian outcasts embark on seafaring adventures and epic battles sure to thrill readers. Perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones.

Links:
Official Website (Educator Materials available)

Brotherband Chronicles

Books in this series

by John Flanagan

John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of the Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

by John Flanagan - Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult 10+

After being cast out of Skandia for failing to guard the sacred Andomal artifact, Hal and the Herons set out in pursuit to reclaim the Andomal and their former glory. It will take more than desire to overcome ruthless pirates, though, and the battle has only just begun.

by John Flanagan - Children's, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult 10+

Hal and his brotherband crew are hot on the trail of the pirate Zavac to stop the bloodthirsty thief before he can do more damage. If Hal is to succeed, he will need to go beyond his brotherband training. He will need to challenge the pirate one-on-one, knowing only one of them will survive.

by John Flanagan - Fantasy

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgurd --- eader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent --- as turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures twelve Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action  . . .  with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

by John Flanagan - Adventure, Children's 10+, Fiction

Hal, his Brotherband crew, and the Ranger Gilan have freed the twelve Araluens sold into slavery. Returning to Araluen, Gilan is given a new mission by King Duncan: protect his daughter’s life. Princess Cassandra has survived one attempt on her life already, and now whispers of a second attempt have reached the kingdom. A deadly sect known as the Scorpion Cult is thought to be behind the assassination threat.

by John Flanagan - Adventure, Children's 10+, Fiction

When the Brotherband crew are caught in a massive storm at sea, they’re blown far off course --- so far that they wash up on the shores of a land to the west that Hal can’t recognize from any of his maps. Eerily the locals are nowhere in sight, yet the Herons have a creeping feeling they are being watched. In this sixth book in the action-packed Brotherband Chronicles, the Herons find themselves in unfamiliar lands and prepare for battle with a ruthless, unknown enemy.