Skip to main content

Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den

Review

Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den

SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF’S DEN is Aimee Carter’s first middle grade novel. As the author of young adult books like THE GODDESS TEST and The Blackcoat Rebellion series, Carter has proven that she can write for any age.

As if starting seventh grade was not difficult enough, Simon Thorn has to deal with animals coming to him wanting food and needing help. To make matters worse, sometimes classmates see him with animals, and they bully him and call him names. However, this changes when an eagle arrives at his window to warn him of an imminent danger. He then is whisked into a world of feuding Animalgams and to a school for children just like him.

The story is full of interesting characters with important life lessons, and through his adventures, Simon creates some great friends.

This book is an action packed story that jumps from adventure to adventure, keeping the reader turning its pages. It is set in a fascinating world of magic and animals, a world with an interesting history and rulers competing for power. A lot of the story focuses around a school where kids learn about what they are and train to improve themselves. This world and these great escapades will keep any reader enthralled and unable to rip themselves from these pages.

The story is full of interesting characters with important life lessons, and through his adventures, Simon creates some great friends. He forms great friendships with a mysterious girl named Winter, a chipper boy named Jam, and a sassy girl named Ariana. Through many exciting events, they learn how to work together and overcome various differences. Readers will see aspects of their own lives in these friendships. The conflicts the characters experience is something readers of all ages will be able to sympathize with and perhaps learn from.

This book is great for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. Even though they are very different series with separate worlds and different magic, they include some fun similar elements. SIMON THORN AND THE WOLF’S DEN is the start to an exciting series featuring a unique form of magic and a fun school for the characters. As the introduction to a series, it hooks readers into a great story line. I am eagerly awaiting the next book.

Reviewed by Alyssa Luis on February 29, 2016

Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den
(Simon Thorn #1)
by Aimée Carter