Skip to main content

Blog

January 22, 2019

Listen to a Preview of the Full-Cast Audiobook for Jerry Craft's Graphic Novel NEW KID

Posted by TaylorT
Tagged:

Here at Kidsreads, we love graphic novels and we love audiobooks, so combining them sounds like a fantastic idea! The audiobook for Jerry Craft's new middle grade graphic novel NEW KID pushes the boundaries of the audiobook to bring the visual world of the book alive with sounds. It's also unique for having a full cast of voice actors, which will make it feel almost like listening to the book come to life. Check out our post below to see some photos from the recording and listen to an audio snippet of the book!


Listen to an audio snippet of the NEW KID audiobook here.

The audiobook is a full cast production, with performances by Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey and Ron Butler. As you’ll hear in the audio snippet above, the audiobook gives you an auditory experience that lives and breathes like a graphic novel would. When characters walk out of the room, you hear them move across the space. When a character flips through a book, you hear the pages whoosh past.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, NEW KID is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds --- and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?