Skip to main content

John Newbery Medal 2012


John Newbery Medal 2012

The John Newbery Medal honors the author of the year's most outstanding contribution to children's literature. Presented every year since 1922, the Medal is named for 18th-century British bookseller John Newbery. Henrik Van Loon won the first Newbery Medal in 1922 for THE STORY OF MANKIND. Receiving the Newbery Medal virtually guarantees that the winning book will remain in print and on library and bookstore shelves for years to come.

-The winner of the John Newbery Medal is DEAD END IN NORVELT by Jack Gantos.

-Two Newbery Honor Books were named: BREAKING STALIN’S NOSE written and illustrated by Eugene Yelchin, and INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN by Thanhha Lai.

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos - Fiction

Jack’s plans for a vacation excitement are shot down when he is "grounded for life" by his feuding parents. But plenty of excitement is coming Jack's way once his mom loans him out to help a feisty old neighbor with a most unusual chore --- typewriting obituaries filled with stories about the people who founded his utopian town.

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai - Fiction

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee --- fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama --- this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. Hà has only ever known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope --- toward America.