Skip to main content

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award 2017

Awards

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award 2017

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal. Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006.
 
The award is named for the world-renowned children’s author, Theodor Geisel. "A person’s a person no matter how small," Theodor Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, would say. "Children want the same things we want: to laugh, to be challenged, to be entertained and delighted." Brilliant, playful and always respectful of children, Dr. Seuss charmed his way into the consciousness of four generations of youngsters and parents. In the process, he helped them to read. The Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, administers the award.
 
 
- The winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is WE ARE GROWING: A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book, written by Laurie Keller. The book is published by Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book Group.
 
- Four Geisel Honor Books were named: GOOD NIGHT OWL, written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli and published by Disney Hyperion, an imprint of Disney Book Group; OOPS, POUNCE, QUICK, RUN!: An Alphabet Caper, written and illustrated by Mike Twohy and published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; GO OTTO GO!, written and illustrated by David Milgrim and published by Simon Spotlight, an Imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division; and THE INFAMOUS RATSOS, written by Kara LaReau, illustrated by Matt Myers and published by Candlewick Press.
Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! We Are Growing! Written and illustrated by Mo Willems and Laurie Keller - Fiction

September 20, 2016


Walt and his friends are growing up fast! Everyone is the something-est. But...what about Walt? He is not the tallest or the curliest or the silliest. He is not the anything-est! As a BIG surprise inches closer, Walt discovers something special of his own!
Good Night Owl by Greg Pizzoli - Children's Fiction

April 19, 2016

 

Owl is ready for bed. But as soon as he settles in, he hears a strange noise. He'll never get to sleep unless he can figure out what's going on!

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!: An Alphabet Caper by Mike Twohy - Picture Book

February 16, 2016


In the vein of Tom and Jerry, Bugs Bunny, and other classic cartoons, OOPS, POUNCE, QUICK, RUN! is a hilariously clever alphabet caper, perfect for fans of LMNO PEAS and Z IS FOR MOOSE. A little mouse is asleep until a ball suddenly bounces into his home, setting off an epic chase --- from A to Z. This charming picture book is from celebrated New Yorker cartoonist Mike Twohy.

Go, Otto, Go! (The Adventures of Otto) by David Milgrim - Fiction

May 24, 2016


See Otto work. Work, work, work on a spaceship to take him home. Since landing on Earth, Otto has made many friends, but what Otto wants most is to visit his family. Will Otto’s spaceship take him up, up, up, so he can go, go, go? Otto the robot builds a spaceship in this Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read by New York Times bestselling author/illustrator David Milgrim, part of the award-winning, star-reviewed The Adventures of Otto series!

The Infamous Ratsos (Ratso Brothers) by Kara LaReau and Matt Myers - Fiction

August 2, 2016


Louie and Ralphie Ratso’s dad, Big Lou, always says that there are two kinds of people: those who are tough and those who are soft. Louie and Ralphie are tough, tough, tough, just like Big Lou, and they’re going to prove it. But every time they try to show just how tough they are, the Ratso brothers end up accidentally doing good deeds instead. What’ll Big Lou do when he finds out they’ve been acting like softies all over the Big City? Perfect for emerging and reluctant readers, this clever and surprisingly warmhearted chapter book shows that being tough all the time can be really tough.