Skip to main content

June 2004

Kidsreads.com Newsletter June 2004
What's New on Kidsreads.com
It's Summer!
Cool New Books for June
Seen the Movie? Then Take Our Poll
Series Book Updates
Series Update: Andrew Lost IN THE DEEP
Books Into Movies
Matt Christopher Fan Club --- Vote in the Poll
Reviews and Features
Poll:
Question of the Month
Some Links on Kidsreads.com
 
Go to Kidsreads.com here.
Read our newsletter online here
Series Feature
Play a trivia game here
Word Scrambles
It's Summer!
 
It's summer. Here in New York it's so hot that the only places you want to be are at the beach or at the movies! The worm kids are sitting under trees sipping their lemonade and only moving enough to turn the pages. If you are a bookworm, we know you understand this posture!

Sooooooooooo where are you on your summer reading list? We did not forget that we told you to plot out your summer reading last month. Hope you are enjoying some good books on your summer vaca. Stuck on what to read? We dare you to finish this newsletter and not find something you HAVE to read! Actually we double dare you.

Not going to take more time chit chatting here...there are polls to take, questions to answer and BOOKS TO BE READ!

Have a great month.

Booker T. Worm for Kidsreads.com

 
Cool New Books for June
 
For the young people featured in this month's roundup of cool new books, life is anything but easy. Three close friends suddenly find themselves fighting on opposing sides of World War I, a strong-willed child embarks on a long and difficult journey in search of a better life, and a homeless boy who moves to the country from New York City faces an uncertain future. Meanwhile, Andrew, Judy and Thudd are experiencing trouble of a different kind, as they continue their efforts underwater to outsmart --- and outlast --- the evil Soggy Bob Sloggins.
Read our Cool New Books for June feature here.
 
Seen the Movie? Then Take Our Poll
 
Have you seen the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban movie?

If so, we want to know what you think!

Take our Harry Potter movie poll.
Take our Harry Potter movie poll here.
 
Series Book Updates
 
Over the next few weeks we will be updating our Series Books feature with the latest titles for each series.

Summer is a great time to try a new series. You will have time to read and explore new titles and characters. Think of the adventures you can have!
Read our Series Books feature here.
 
Series Update: Andrew Lost IN THE DEEP
 
ANDREW LOST: IN THE DEEP by J.C. Greenburg
Andrew, Judy and Thudd are in very deep trouble. Just as they're passing over the deepest place on earth, the Water Bug loses power. So instead of saving the giant squids, they will have to save themselves --- or be lost on the bottom of the ocean forever!
Read more about the Andrew Lost series here.
 
Books Into Movies
 
Did you like the book? Well now you can see the movie! Check out the newest summer flicks that are based on books to get another dose of the stories you love. And here's an extra special treat. Some of the films we've assembled have companion books that are based directly on the motion picture screenplay and that take you behind-the-scenes at the making of the movie --- which means you can enjoy the story long after the credits stop rolling.
Read our Books Into Movies feature here.
 
Matt Christopher Fan Club --- Vote in the Poll
 
Matt Christopher is thinking of starting a Matt Christopher Fan Club for kids. He wants to know if YOU would want to join a club, and what you would want for being a member.

Vote and let him know!
Vote about the Matt Christopher Fan Club here.
 
Reviews and Features
 
CHASING VERMEER by Blue Balliett
Two children solve a mystery surrounding one of the greatest --- and most mysterious --- artists of all time in this engaging debut that is being called "THE DA VINCI CODE for kids." Reviewed by Norah Piehl and excerpted.

SO B. IT by Sarah Weeks
Who is Heidi's mother? Because of her mom's "bum brain" and limited vocabulary, Heidi doesn't even know her mother's name or her own last name --- but she is determined to discover the truth. She connects with unforgettable characters in this novel that is equal parts mystery, adventure, and family story. Reviewed by Terry Miller Shannon and excerpted.

DRAGON: Hound of Honor by Julie Andrews Edwards and Emma Walton Hamilton
Julie Andrews Edwards and Emma Walton Hamilton have written an inspiring story of friendship between a man and his loyal dog in this engaging narrative set in medieval France. Reviewed by Sally M. Tibbetts and excerpted.

TOES by Tor Seidler
National Book Award finalist Tor Seidler has written a new novel in the tradition of THE RAT'S TALE and WAINSCOTT WEASEL. TOES centers on a lovable feline who changes the lives of everyone he meets. Reviewed by Renee Kirchner.

THE TAIL OF EMILY WINDSNAP by Liz Kessler
Emily Windsnap may be a mermaid, but this is no fairy "tail." Instead, this clever novel is a fast-paced adventure story featuring a winning heroine. Reviewed by Norah Piehl.

THE QUILT by Gary Paulsen
A six-year-old boy is spending the summer with his grandmother in a small town near the Canadian border. When his cousin goes into labor, the house fills with women who work together on a very special quilt. Reviewed by Sally M. Tibbetts.

ALIDA'S SONG by Gary Paulsen
A fourteen-year-old boy who has been neglected by irresponsible parents spends a wonderful summer on a farm where his grandmother cooks for two elderly brothers. Reviewed by Sally M. Tibbetts.

THE SUPERNATURALIST by Eoin Colfer
A motley group of teens who all have a special psychic ability try to save their world by destroying Parasites --- tiny, translucent creatures that feed on the life force of humans. Reviewed by Sarah Sawtelle.

FISH by L.S. Matthews
This simple fable about a child who saves a fish from a mud puddle when evacuating a war-torn country contains a message of hope in the face of overwhelming odds. Reviewed by Sarah A. Wood.
Read our reviews and features here.
 
Poll:
 
Do you have a summer reading list for school?

Yes
No
Not sure

How many books do you have to read?

More than 10
5-9
1-4
I do not have a summer reading list.


What is your personal summer reading goal?

1-4 books
5-10 books
11-14 books
15-19 books
20-24 books
More than 25 books
Answer the Poll here.
 
Question of the Month
 
What book are you most looking forward to reading this summer?
Click here to answer our Question of the Month.
 

Want to know my favorite part about this newsletter? You can forward it to a friend by clicking the button on the bottom of the page. What could be easier? Now it's really easy to share your favorite book newsletter with friends, teachers and librarians! Can you tell I am excited? I hope you are too.

Remember to be safe online. NEVER tell anyone personal information --- which includes your real name, age, address, phone number or school. Hey, pretend you are undercover when you go online and protect yourself at all times!

Keep reading! Until next week...

Booker T. Worm and Friends
Kidsreads.com
The Book Report Network
250 W. 57th Street - Suite 1228
New York, New York 10107