Skip to main content

Found: Book One of the Missing


Found: Book One of the Missing

Thirteen-year-old Jonah Skidmore feels like an average kid, complete with an intelligent but slightly annoying younger sister named Katherine, a mom and a dad who constantly reassure their children that they are special and well loved, and a quiet home in the suburbs of Ohio. The fact that Jonah is adopted has never been a big deal for him, maybe because his parents have always been so open and reassuring about it. To Jonah, life feels normal. That is, until the letter arrives.

The letter, which has no return address or signature, contains only six words: YOU ARE ONE OF THE MISSING. At first, Jonah thinks it’s a bad prank from a kid at school making fun of his adoption. But then his new friend, Chip Winston, receives one as well, and he’s not adopted. Or is he? Chip’s letter brings out his family’s long-kept secret of his adoption, and Chip, being thrust into the situation without warning, isn’t handling it very well. It doesn’t help that Chip’s parents refuse to discuss anything with him. Jonah assures Chip that he will help in any way he can. Chip takes him up on his offer, and together they break into Mr. Winston’s home safe to search for information. They discover the phone number of a Mr. James Reardon. They dial the number and find out he works for the FBI. Why would the FBI be involved with adoptions?

His curiosity peaked with Chip’s own unanswered questions, Jonah asks his parents for more information about his own unknown past. Through their adoption agency, they end up with an appointment to talk to the same Mr. Reardon of the FBI. But first, Jonah receives another mysterious letter, this time reading BEWARE! THEY’RE COMING BACK TO GET YOU. Even more on edge than ever, Jonah and Katherine manage to sneak some information from a file sitting on Mr. Reardon’s desk, including lists of “witnesses” and “survivors.” Both Jonah’s and Chip’s names are on the list of survivors!

Jonah, Chip and Katherine delve into their tiny pile of clues, searching for some honest answers. They quickly discover an incredibly mind-blowing conspiracy, jerking them into a mysterious whirlwind adventure from which they may never return.

Many readers will be familiar with Margaret Peterson Haddix, as she has written numerous other books, including the popular Shadow Children series. Well, hold on tight and prepare to be awed, because this mega-talented author has created another exciting rollercoaster of a ride with her newest series. THE MISSING promises to be an action-packed, non-stop adventure, and FOUND, the first installment, fulfills that promise fully, plus hints at the amazing thrills to come.

Make sure you have a big block of free time before starting this one, because it will be nearly impossible to close the cover until the last page is reached. And when you do finish, prepare to be floored…and impatient for the next book in the series!

Reviewed by Chris Shanley-Dillman on April 21, 2009

Found: Book One of the Missing
by Margaret Peterson Haddix

  • Publication Date: April 21, 2009
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
  • ISBN-10: 141695421X
  • ISBN-13: 9781416954217