Skip to main content

The Penderwicks

Series

The Penderwicks

With over one million copies sold, this irresistible series of modern classics tells the story of the Penderwicks, a family that believes in truth and honor, yet can’t seem to stay out of trouble. From National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall, The Penderwicks books are perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Links:

The Penderwicks

Books in this series

by Jeanne Birdsall - Children's, Children's 8-12, Family, Family Life, Fiction, Youth Fiction

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will --- won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

by Jeanne Birdsall - Children's, Children's 8-12, Family, Family Life, Fiction, Youth Fiction

The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn’t quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided it’s time for him to start dating --- and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan --- a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It’s high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

by Jeanne Birdsall - Children's, Children's 8-12, Family, Family Life, Fiction, Youth Fiction

That leaves Skye as OAP (oldest available Penderwick) --- a terrifying notion for all, but for Skye especially. Things look good as they settle into their cozy cottage, with a rocky shore, enthusiastic seagulls, a just-right corner store, and a charming next-door neighbor.  But can Skye hold it together long enough to figure out Rosalind's directions about not letting Batty explode?  Will Jane's Love Survey come to a tragic conclusion after she meets the alluring Dominic? Is Batty --- contrary to all accepted wisdom --- the only Penderwick capable of carrying a tune?

by Jeanne Birdsall - Family, Fiction

Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family. Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.

by Jeanne Birdsall - Family, Family Life, Fiction
Now it's summertime, and eleven-year-old Lydia is dancing at the bus stop, waiting for big sister Batty to get home from college. This is a very important dance and a very important wait because the two youngest sisters are about to arrive home to find out that the Penderwicks will all be returning to Arundel this summer, the place where it all began. And better still is the occasion: a good old-fashioned, homemade-by-Penderwicks wedding.