Skip to main content

Superstar

About the Book

Superstar

Perfect for fans of FISH IN A TREE and WONDER, this uplifting debut novel from Mandy Davis follows space-obsessed Lester Musselbaum as he experiences the challenges of his first days of public school: making friends, facing bullies, finding his "thing" and accidentally learning of his autism-spectrum diagnosis.
 
Lester’s first days as a fifth grader at Quarry Elementary School are not even a little bit like he thought they would be --- the cafeteria is too loud for Lester's ears, there are too many kids and then there's the bully.
 
Lester was always home-schooled, and now he’s shocked to be stuck in a school where everything just seems wrong. That's until he hears about the science fair, which goes really well for Lester! 
 
But then things go a bit sideways, and Lester has to find his way back. A touching peek into the life of a sensitive autism-spectrum boy facing the everydayness of elementary school, SUPERSTAR testifies that what you can do isn’t nearly as important as who you are.

Superstar
by Mandy Davis