Skip to main content

The Slippery Slope


The Slippery Slope

written by Lemony Snicket, illustrated by Brett Helquist

If you've been reading "A Series of Unfortunate Events" by Lemony Snicket, you already know about the dastardly Count Olaf, who makes life miserable for the three Baudelaire orphans as he schemes to steal their fortune. If you haven't been reading this wild and witty series, what are you waiting for?

In THE SLIPPERY SLOPE, Snicket really outdoes himself. All the familiar characters are here --- the orphans Violet, Klaus and Sunny, Count Olaf, his girlfriend Esme, and his band of nefarious villains --- and the plot jumps right in where THE CARNIVOROUS CARNIVAL left off, with Violet and Klaus hurtling down a mountainside at top speed. Fortunately, the two oldest Baudelaire siblings quickly cooperate to save themselves and then set their sights on rescuing their baby sister, who's been kidnapped by Count Olaf. Along the way, they reencounter some familiar names from their past --- including one they thought was dead --- and uncover some important clues about the identity of the mysterious VFD organization.

THE SLIPPERY SLOPE has all of the tongue-in-cheek wit that makes the series enjoyable for kids and adults alike; Sunny's "baby talk" and its humorous definitions are in rare form in this volume. In addition, this tenth installment has finally broken free from the formulaic plots that bogged down several of the earlier books in the series.

The end is in sight for this projected thirteen-book series and the plot really seems to be moving toward some kind of conclusion, although it seems unlikely that the series will have a very happy ending. As usual, THE SLIPPERY SLOPE ends with a cliffhanger that will leave readers wondering about the fate of the Baudelaire orphans and clamoring for the next installment in this darkly entertaining series.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl on September 23, 2003

The Slippery Slope
(A Series of Unfortunate Events #10)
written by Lemony Snicket, illustrated by Brett Helquist

  • Publication Date: September 23, 2003
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • ISBN-10: 0064410137
  • ISBN-13: 9780064410137